Main Content

Learn about our Area

The Columbia River Gorge is one of the most diverse and scenic areas in the Northwest. Spilt by the Columbia River – east and west – and the Cascade Mountains – north and south – there are 5 counties which encompass the region of southwest Washington and north central Oregon. Below is a brief overview of each county to get you started. Don’t hesitate to ask your Copper West broker for more information. A little local knowledge goes a long way!

Welcome to our part of the world!

Hood River County, OR
Commonly known for its defining summer characteristics, wind and fruit production, Hood River County is a small county of 533 sq miles and approximately 23,000 people. The 3 main towns in Hood River County are Hood River, Cascade Locks and Parkdale/Mt Hood. Agricultural roots run deep here but share favor with world class recreation. The food, wine and brewery scene here has grown significantly in the last 20 years as has the arts and music community. With Mt. Hood to the south, the Gorge to the north, and Portland an easy 60 scenic miles away, Hood River County is a great place to call home.
Learn More:

Klickitat County, WA
Located in south central Washington State, Klickitat County encompasses 1,908 sq miles and approximately 20,300 people. The county is named after the Klickitat tribe of the Yakama Native Americans. The main towns in Klickitat County are White Salmon, Bingen and Goldendale. This region has wonderful fishing, hunting, whitewater rafting, windsurfing, hiking, biking, horseback riding, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, berry and mushroom picking, and scenic tours. The moderate climate makes Klickitat County a year-round outdoor recreation destination.
Learn More:

Wasco County, OR
Wasco County is the biggest county in Oregon and encompasses 2,387 sq miles and approximately 26,115 people. Located east of the Cascade Mountain Range with more sun days than average and warmer temperatures. The main towns in Wasco County are the county seat, The Dalles, Mosier, Dufur and Maupin. The site of what is now the city of The Dalles was a major Native American trading center for at least 10,000 years. In the early 1840s American settlers began to arrive in significant numbers, traveling overland via the Oregon Trail. The Terrain is a combination of forests, orchards, and high desert, offering great outdoor recreation and an area rich in history and resources.
Learn More:

Skamania County, WA
Skamania County consists of 1,672 sq miles and approximately 11,837 people. The county was founded in 1854 and derives its name from the Cascades Chinook word sk’mániak, meaning “swift waters.” It is one of the most scenic and diverse landscape in the world. You can windsurf, mountain bike, kayak and boating, snowmobile, cross-country ski, hunting and fishing, or rest and relax. Skamania County on the Columbia River in Southwest Washington is home to several of the state’s most famous features including Mount St. Helens in the northwest and Bonneville Dam in the southeast and the Gifford Pinchot forest. The main towns in Skamania are Stevenson and North Bonneville.
Learn More:

Sherman County, OR
Sherman County lies between the deep canyons of the John Day River on the east and the Deschutes River on the west in north central Oregon. Six small towns are in this county — Biggs, Rufus, Wasco, Moro, Grass Valley and Kent. A highly agricultural county with 831 sq miles and approximately 1,699 people. Sherman County features a hybrid climate, part Mediterranean and part Intermountain Region, meaning four distinct seasons and low annual precipitation.
Learn More:


From here, feel free to go back to our Homepage.